This is another love story with a man who is unavailable. With every story we can imagine the pain, frustration, anger, disbelief, numbness etc.. that one feels. It’s not another story. When the human heart is involved, there is a lot of energy, attention, will……….We firmly believe that the situation of so many priests who are not married is damaging in many ways for the Catholic Church. One can easily see the difference in married priests who don’t have to ‘hide’ their true love. The women next to these priests serve to animate and give energy to priesthood. The happy couple is the best witness to the gospel in today’s life.

We cannot judge anybody yet we feel sorry that the priests come out winners in the sense that the women feel victimized before and during the process. We wish the best of luck to Mary in her legal proceedings.

My name is Mary. I’m a 27-year-old girl and I had a relationship with a priest (Father Saviour), who is about 7 years older than me. He’s my type of man, but I always repressed my attraction just because he is a priest. Let’s say that if he would be a lay person, it would have been a normal couple.

I knew him personally but he started to talk to me very frequently on social network and at last he invited me to meet him. One evening we were chatting and he told me that he wanted to meet him, just to talk. That evening I was free. So he just ran and in 10 minutes he was already at the point where we decided to meet.

He than began to tell me about some other women that he had, even during his formation and I was just astonished, almost shocked because I didn’t think that of a priest. It seemed as I was the “confessor”. Long story short, we continued to meet and we ended up making love. At the beginning he was very sweet and very caring. He was even cooking for me and giving me presents. We often prayed together and he was very present in my life, calling me many times a day and texting me. He pampered me and cared for me…….I ended up falling in love with him. It was not just sexual attraction but I just loved him. But even if I was in love with him, I just kept on feeling bad for committing this sin and for making love with a priest. He instead was trying to convince me that there was nothing bad about it. Then sometimes during our meetings I noticed he was trying to devalue me with words wrapped in a joking context. Sometimes he used nice words towards me and some other times he was using deprecating expressions like “you are a frustrated, you are crazy, no one loves you etc…”. One day he came telling that “yes, I like you but I made another choice in life”…and there the hell started. I discovered he had (and I think he still has) a harem of women, mostly married, who have relationships with him. One day I discovered a conversation on Facebook between him and one of these women where they were talking negatively about me and when I told him that I had discovered everything, he broke down and started slapping me on my face. Then he asked me for forgiveness but with the excuse that it was me who induced him to beat me…however you turn it, the fault was always mine.

Then he kept just giving me the “hot/cold”, one day being him sweet and kind, and the day after a complete detached person. That drove me crazy, it was very nerve-racking and I couldn’t help to keep myself from contacting him and begging for explanations. Then he told me I had to find another guy to have a normal relationship and told me to stop contacting him. But I couldn’t manage. So he ended up denouncing me for stalking actions, omitting that he was the one who started the relationship and then drove me crazy. Now I’m in the middle of legal actions to solve this injustice. The bishop knows everything but he is still practising his priestly ministry and of course, I am sure he is continuing to abuse women or having sex for fun with them. He is a very crazy person, very unclear and fading. I guess almost with certainty that he has narcissistic personality disorder. This person has 3 parishes under him and I still wonder what benefits he can bring to his parishioners. For me, I spent the last 5 months grieving and wandering around with no more certainties. These people are very dangerous and are everywhere but when they hide behind the priestly clothing it’s very scary and traumatizing. I still didn’t understand what he wanted from me, if he wanted only sex, or if he wanted true love. I don’t know if he loved me or not. Maybe he doesn’t know anything because he is just obeying his instincts. Probably he doesn’t know even if he is dead or alive. He needs help but he has to seek it with his own free will. I still love him because he is not a totally negative person. But he is not trustworthy. I decided with all my will that I have to see him as a priest.

I suggest to women that when loving priests, they’ll have to verify what kind of person the priest is. Some aspects of a love story with a priest can be even good and new because you can participate in their lifestyle which is quite different from the one of a lay man. But you have to keep in mind that sometimes the priest can hide some other personalities. And the one who gets into trouble is always the woman, because the priest is more powerful. Please be careful and don’t fall under their abusive position of power.

Thanks a lot for your attention. Hope this story helps some other women in trouble with priests. God bless you all and please don’t lose your faith in our Jesus Christ!

